Nancy McCormack Emerging Leader Award

28 Feb 2022 4:33 PM | Michel-Adrien Sheppard (Administrator)

Dolores Noga, Manager, Library Services and Knowledge Management at McLennan Ross in Edmonton, is the Chair of the CALL/ACBD Scholarships & Awards Committee.

She would like CALL members to consider applying for the new Nancy McCormack Emerging Leader Award which honours the memory of a fellow CALL member who was the Head Law Librarian at Queen's University in Kingston. 

Nancy died in 2019.

The award goes to an association member in good standing who is normally in the first ten years of their law library career and who has demonstrated the qualities embodied by Nancy.

The application deadline is April 1, 2022.

Here is what Dolores asked the blog to share:

The Canadian Association of Law Libraries recently unveiled criteria for the new Nancy McCormack Emerging Leader Award. This is a memorial award, intended to recognize and honour our former colleague, who dedicated considerable time to mentoring and encouraging others in the profession.

Nancy McCormack was an active member of the Association and a committed contributor to the Canadian Law Library Review, preparing book reviews, writing articles, and served as editor and associate editor. She co-wrote The Practical Guide to Canadian Legal Research published in 2010 and revised in 2015, Updating Statutes and Regulations for All Canadian Jurisdictions published in 2012, Introduction to the Law & Legal System of Canada published in 2013, and The Annotated Federal Interpretation Act published in 2016.

Nancy most recently edited the fifth edition of The Dictionary of Canadian Law published in 2020, a task described as ‘Herculean’. She taught Advanced Legal Research and Writing, Torts, and Legal Research and Writing. A search on HeinOnline provides reference to 52 articles written by Nancy.

Nancy held a B.A., M.A., M.L.I.S., J.D., and LL.M. An issue of the Canadian Law Library Review, compiled after Nancy’s passing, provides the following comments from those who worked closely with her and knew her well: “incredibly generous in sharing her experience, knowledge, time”; “cared deeply about the people she taught and mentored”; “kind”; “encouraging”; and “supportive”, as examples.

Nancy was the recipient of the Dennis Marshall Memorial Award for Excellence in Law Librarianship in 2014 and the Michael Silverstein Prize in 2018.

Please send comments or questions to - © 1998-2018 Canadian Association of Law Libraries
1 Eglinton Avenue East, Suite 705, Toronto, ON     M4P 3A1   647-346-8723
This website is best viewied in Firefox or Google Chrome.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software